Insider with That Working Girl

unspecified
I got a chance to interview Lindsay from That Working Girl on all her success. Not only is she a social media guru, she runs a very successful site. We got the opportunity to learn more about That Working Girl!
Tell us about yourself, what is your personal background?

Growing up, I always knew that I had a knack for writing and wanted to someday incorporate it into my career. Fast forward to college, where I pursued a fulfilling degree in journalism and worked my way up through the ranks of our campus newspaper to serve as our Editor-in-Chief during my senior year. Upon graduating, I experienced a change of heart and dabbled in PR and advertising before landing where I am now working full-time in social media! I can honestly say that my experience trying out different areas of media was great, and I wouldn’t change a thing. I’m currently helping manage social media for a national brand, and it’s so funny for me to look back to three years ago when I was managing an on-campus Instagram account with 100 followers, and now I product content for an audience of over 35,000!

 
What inspired you to start That Working Girl?

The idea to launch That Working Girl came to me during an amazing. whirlwind trip to New York City in the spring of 2012. I had the incredible opportunity to visit Cosmopolitan magazine with a small group of handpicked students, where I got to tour the office and have a meet and greet with several key editors. While I was there, former Editor-In-Chief Kate White noted that starting a blog about what you were most passionate about was a great way to product quality content and connect with others. As soon as I hopped on my flight home I began scribbling notes (I still have them!) to begin a launch plan for That Working Girl.

Over the last 4 years the site has certainly seen its fair share of changes, and has grown along with me and my career. I can’t lie – with the pace of my professional life picking up speed it’s sometimes very difficult to keep up with a blog, but connect with and helping others is always worth it to me.

 
What were your goals when you created the site?

My initial goal was to help other women find fulfillment in their careers – namely through internship and job opportunity postings. At the time, I was fresh into my 20s and was hungry for any great opportunity to learn more about the media industry. That Working Girl was initially very media-focused, and has since evolved into a career and lifestyle destination.

Thatworkinggirl
How has it evolved over the years?

That Working Girl has seen several rebrands, with each blossoming into something more amazing than before! As I’ve added contributors and blog sponsors into the mix, the amount and quality of my content has picked up. I’m currently planning out content that will showcase more of my personal life, as I’ve kept most of myself hidden away and behind the scenes of the site. Now, I’m ready to share more of my personal journey and experiences!

 
What are some obstacles that you have had to overcome?

The biggest obstacle that I’ve had to overcome – and am still overcoming! – is finding ample time between all of my other commitments to tend to That Working Girl and regularly update with fresh content. My contributors are a huge help to me. They are all so kind and smart, and their blog contributions never cease to amaze me. Other than that, figuring out whether or not I should keep my personal and blog social media accounts separate is a big hurdle. We’ll see where that goes!

 
What has been your greatest accomplish thus far?

My greatest accomplishment thus far has been That Working Girl’s ability to help women and meet them exactly where they are in their career. I can’t tell you how many coffee dates and emails I’ve exchanged with strangers who turned into friends thanks to the blog. I’m so humbled every day that people come to me for my opinion and expertise, and that is exactly what challenges me to push myself and learn more each day.

 
Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

I used to have a planned-out roadmap for my life, but I threw that out years ago! Honestly, in 10 years I would be over-the-moon if I was owning my own digital consulting business, with an emphasis on helping small brands grow into something mighty and amazing.


What is your philosophy of life?

I try each and every day to be helpful to others – what’s the point in working so hard if you can’t help others at the end of the day?

thatworkinggirl2
To learn more about Lindsay, check out her site here: http://www.thatworkinggirl.com/
Connect with her:  Instagram Facebook Pinterest Twitter
Leave a Reply

